#thankyew

I’m a true blue Singaporean.
spending 16years of education and 25years of life here in Singapore.

But.

I’m never good in history, social studies or whatsoever.

neither do i know the exact deeds historical/political figures do/did.

All I know is that I grew up in a relatively safe country. I seldom zip my bag and always sling it behind my back. Leaving our bags on the tables/chairs to chope seats while queuing up for food is a typical scenario in the fastfood restaurants here.

It seems like we never appreciate who gave us such comfort (or security), until today, when our founding father left us for good.

From young, I was (am) always proud to say I am a Singaporean.
But as I grew, I am guilty to admit I was kinda wavered by the different voices out there.

Rigid. Some described. and they blamed it on our upbringing (in this country).
It plays a part, I can’t deny. Somehow, but not everything.

Rigidity, however, not totally negative now that I think about it. Yadayada, cos imma true blue singaporean whut lol.

(This is just my own personal thought)

A tiny, lil country like us, not even consider small on the map tbh, it’s almost like non-existence. And he moulded it to become what it is like today. I have no knowledge on how he did it, but have heard contrasting views on him. Some like it, some didn’t. But all in all, I am comfortable in the land I am stepping here today.

Bilingualism.
Some people are just full of themselves, thinking that they are bilinguists.
C’mon luh. Though it’s true that few of my friends really are (my primary & secondary school mates), but it’s really a small part of the people in Singapore that can be called bilinguists.
Sad to say, I am not too, though I really want to be one. Have been trying to read (& write) more to brush up my English, at the same time not wanting to neglect my mother tongue too.

I was brought up in a Chinese-educated family, or to be exact, a Chinese speaking family. I used to feel uncomfortable (or in fact no confident at all) speaking English, because of the pronunciation and the low command of Vocabulary. Mom brought me to learn Phonics, which imo really benefited me a lot. English tuition also helped and so does friends. I am not perfectly fluent when speaking English still, and sometimes confused with what prepositions to put etc. I am so gonna read more and speak more from now.

(Off topic, but i just want to mention) Some people just irks me off, when they tried too hard, making themselves sound like a fluent English speaker (apparently failed). Please, brush up your grammar and sentence structures first before speaking in that trying-to-act-like-an-angmoh-accent.

Articles these few days are about how other countries viewed us. Of course, they have to be good stuffs during this period. But before today, ironically enough, I have heard people saying negative stuffs about our country.  

“Sugar-coated North Korea.” This left a huge impact on me actually. 

Okay, but anw. What truly touched me most, and the one & only factor which made me wanna blog about it, is the small little acts of kindness from the citizens.

“While queuing up, there are many giving drinks and biscuits to those in the queue. When asked where are they from. They replied ‘from Singapore’.”

Staff from the museum also gave out paper fans for people to cool themselves with.

The Clarke Quay management also set up a table by the river, with tenants chipping in to provide drinks, cups, ice and straws for thirsty members of the public, said Ms Nicole Lem, 32, a senior executive with the Clarke Quay management team.

Along North Bridge Road, the Song Fa Bak Kut Teh eatery spent over $300 buying plain water, ice, plastic cups and a water dispenser for people who were waiting in line, said general operations manager Leonard Goh.

In addition, the restaurant set up three standing fans and chairs for seniors in the queue to rest on as they grew tired.

One of the Clarke Quay bars, Cuba Libre, also gave out iced water to those in the queue.

Over at Raffles Place MRT, florist shop Artisan de Fleurs gave away white flowers for free.

Picture1

我要哭了我.

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/burgers-biscuits-and-drinks-those-waiting-line-pay-respe

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/acts-kindness-crowd-queueing-pay-respects-mr-lee-kuan-ye

if you ask me, the future is really shining for us…
we will survive;
this is a red dot, which we can make redder and brighter.

Lee Kuan Yew, 1923 – 2015

#thankyew

Leave a Reply

